Welcome Guest. Sign in or Signup

1 Answers

Renewing a campaign

Asked by: StephenL 369 views User Questions

(I’m working on getting this entire first forum page to just list my name.)

I am going to be restarting a campaign for a client. He purchase x impressions for a month, and will do so again this coming month.

I’ve read http://adserver.webads.co.il/docs/html/manual/bestpractices.html#renewing and want to make sure of some things.

First of all, what does it mean to “recycle a campaign”?

Second, I need to keep all the statistics, and I don’t want more campaigns per advertiser. I have enough of campaigns running as it is.

So I assume I will go with the method of resetting the statistics Total, but what are the drawbacks (if any) of doing it that way as opposed to just adding on more impressions?

Third, if I delete a campaign I no longer use, what happens to the data? I need to get rid of some of the old campaigns, but I must maintain the statistics and be able to look up the old campaigns.

Thanks.

1 Answers



  1. on Feb 16, 2007

    First of all, what does it mean to “recycle a campaign”?

    This means to delete the campaign. When you delete a campaign it is not actually deleted, rather it’s placed in the recycle bin. From the campaigns screen, click on “Recycle Bin” in the navigation menu on the left and it will bring up a screen to let you empty or restore select campaigns from the recycle bin.

    Second, I need to keep all the statistics, and I don’t want more campaigns per advertiser. I have enough of campaigns running as it is.

    This is the point of the recycle bin. Campaigns in the recycle bin do not show up in the various campaign lists, searches, etc… but they do still show up in the reports.

    So I assume I will go with the method of resetting the statistics Total, but what are the drawbacks (if any) of doing it that way as opposed to just adding on more impressions?

    The only drawback is that you won’t see the old number of views, clicks, and actions when looking at the active campaigns list on the home screen or the campaign listing screen. Those are the only two places where those statistics totals are visible. Totals in the statistics reports are calculated off of different data in the database.

    Third, if I delete a campaign I no longer use, what happens to the data? I need to get rid of some of the old campaigns, but I must maintain the statistics and be able to look up the old campaigns.

    As I said above, delete the campaign and it will be put into the recycle bin. Do *not* remove the campaign from the recycle bin or you will lose the reports for it. The reports for it will only be available as long as it’s in the recycle bin.

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes